2020 Young Adult Award Winning Books


2020 Winner: Dig by A.S. King

2020 Honor Books:  The Beast Player by Nahoko Uehash,  Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki, illustrated by Rosemary Valero-O’Connell,  Ordinary Hazards: A Memoir by Nikki Grimes and Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean


The William C. Morris Award

For a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens

2020 Winner: The Field Guide to the North American Teenager by Ben Philippe

2020 Finalists: The Candle and the Flame by Nafiza Azad,  Frankly in Love by David Yoon, Genesis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams  and There Will Come a Darkness by Katy Rose Pool.


The YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults 

2020 Winner: Free Lunch by Rex Ogle

2020 Finalists: The Great Nijinsky: God of Dance by Lynn Curlee,   A Light in the Darkness: Janusz Korczak, His Orphans, and the Holocaust by Albert Marrin, A Thousand Sisters: The Heroic Airwomen of the Soviet Union in World War II by Elizabeth Wein  and Torpedoed: The True Story of the World War II Sinking of ‘The Children’s Ship’ by Deborah Heiligman.


Coretta Scott King Author Award

Given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

2020 Author Winner: New Kid by Jerry Craft

2020 Illustrator Winner: The Undefeated, illustrated by Kadir Nelson and written by Kwame Alexander.


The American Indian Youth Literature Award 

2020 Young Adult Winner : The Young Adult Book winner is Hearts Unbroken, written by Cynthia Leitich Smith

2020 Young Adult Honorees:Surviving the City, written by Tasha Spillett,  Reawakening Our Ancestors’ Lines: Revitalizing Inuit Traditional Tattooing, gathered and compiled by Angela Hovak Johnston,  An Indigenous Peoples’ History of the United States for Young People, written by Debbie Reese  and Jean Mendoza, adapted from the adult book by Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz and Apple in the Middle, written by Dawn Quigley.


The Stonewall Book Award

For YA books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender experience.

2020 Winners: When Aidan Became a Brother by Kyle Lukoff and The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

2020 Honor Books; Pet by Akwaeke Emezi ,  Like a Love Story by Abdi Nazemian and The Best at It by Maulik Pancholy.

Start Your Search